Derek Gores

Standard

Collage is a new land for me. I never really appreciated it when I was younger, but, I have gained a new respect for this art form since I started making ATC’s. Collage is teaching me a lot about art. I’m developing a filing system to categorize the dissected magazine bits I will be cutting over the winter.

Recently, I stumbled upon Derek Gores in my search for ATC inspiration, his artwork is phenomenal:

I don’t know what the name of these individual pieces are they’re not named on his site.

About his work he says,

“I like my pictures to barely come together with teasing little details. Sort of like how the mind can’t help but wander, even when trying to focus on one thing. In the collages, some of the little bits I use are deliberate, but in most I’m trusting randomness to help build an end result more interesting than I could have planned. One friend calls it a ‘Zen Narrative.’

He makes each picture meaningful by layering in topics and emotions connected with the subject he is working with.

See that girl in pink up there, the way she wears what’s on her mind like a hat?  She, and Gores of course, are my inspiration for Halloween ATC’s and a possible collage project for my sketchbook 😀

Leave a Reply

