Quort!

Standard

Image

Sooo, my friend Gilligan and I were walking one day when I came upon this ravens feather.  Normally, I would leave it, but since starting this art journey I decided to take it home and see if I could do anything with it.  I ended up tracing it onto a stiff plastic sheet and cutting it out with an X-Acto knife to make a stencil.  I use an old telephone book for X-Acto purposes.

In my excitement, I had to use the stencil immediately in the phone book I cut on.  Which I love the effect of and transferred it to my sketchbook:

Image

Joy.  I seem to be on a bird mission.  I had to attempt drawing a raven, I’m glad I did, he definately adds interest to the page I was experimenting with. I am trying to ‘loosen up’ so I chose my PRANG sketching pencil to rough him out and try to work in the shading, I used a fine line Prismacolor, black marker  to etch out some of the details. The feathers, the way the lines make up the whole, the way they flip up in places  are hard for me, but, that will be one more topic for my sketchbook.

Leave a Reply

