Lesson 6: Observational Drawing

Standard

Image

draw 30 small items in 30 minutes:  okay, done.

Image

Image

Now, pile it up and draw what you can in 1 hour.  For me, this looks like:

Image

Now draw this Rembrandt copy, “…you simply cannot do this drawing with a tight hand…” teacher says.  So, I opt for my PRANG SKETCHING pencil instead of the cushy mechanical pencil I’ve been using. Here is a printed copy of Rembrandt’s self-portrait and my sketched portrait of his retarded cousin:

Image

This exercise forced me to not worry about being perfect, I did worry the facial features a bit, but I had to get over it and tell my inner critic to shut up 🙂

Leave a Reply

