Link

 

Image

My creative process for portraiture begins with what the model projects.  Body language is a very important part of achieving a likeness.  Therefore I do not pose my models.  I talk with them after they seat themselves.  The more we talk the more comfortable they tend to become in the chair and in my company. I watch them move about in the chair until I’m stuck with a composition.  Left to position themselves with no more direction then sitting or standing the subject will take a pose that is characteristic of them.

-Pamela Dulong Williams

I like this artist, who calls herself an ‘impressionist’. I have a scant notion of what that means, which is odd because I’m usually drawn to work that is described this way.  I suppose that’s homework identified: Define ‘impressionistic’ artwork, the what, the why, the how.  I like it whatever it is.

Of Self-portrait she states:

I usually paint a self-portrait when I find a need to experiment.  Self-portraiture gives me the privacy to explore an idea about something such as the scale, palette, or the temperature of light.  The subject of myself is secondary – I am just a convenient model willing to pose for however long it takes without complaint and at an affordable rate.  Self-portrait painting is also particularly helpful for building skills that will be used in portrait commissions.  This self-portrait (below) became a statement of my dedication to myself as an artist and a mother.  I painted it from life with a six-month old baby on my hip, myself in a night gown, and my four-year-old daughter.

-quote from AmericanArtist

Image

Advice From The Artist:

Work from life, always. Learn the foundations, And do not get comfortable – it is in the solitude of unfamiliar places you will find your way of painting.

Image

There is some sort of quality in Williams painting that I love and may learn to incorporate into my own artwork one day.  Is it abstract?  I don’t know.  I notice she also includes the odd bird, not in every painting, only some.  I wonder why?

You can find Pamela at:  www.pameladulongwilliams.com

Leave a Reply

